Cringe 101: Let's be Cringe Together

How to be cringe in a perfectionists world.

Hey there!

I’ve had a lot of practice of being cringe. It’s a fear that has held me back for most of my life, because until recent years I’ve come to embrace my discomfort and gawkiness.

But lets backtrack, what is “cringe“ really? According to Dictionary.com , Cringe is “causing feelings of acute embarrassment and awkwardness.

All around its a weird and uncomfortable feeling when anyone says they something like “I can’t wait for the latest Rae Dunn drop at Homegoods.“ I joke, I joke, I’m really happy for you and your Rae Dunn collection.

You get the picture, basically anything that brings on the smallest of winces. But today, we’re going against the norm and embracing the cringe, and here’s how you can too.

Cringe 101

Embrace your weird

I’m a self-proclaimed weirdo. But I didn’t really start to accept and embrace it till my 30’s. And it took A LOT of work. But where do you start? You have to change your beliefs around being weird. How do you do that? Here are some steps you can take:

  1. Identify the why: what past experience gave you this negative belief?

  2. Write it out: Writing about it in a journal can help you make sense of it and release it. This can help you step outside of yourself as an observer to fully understand and forgive yourself.

  3. Embrace the Possibility: Now that you’ve identified and released, it’s time to imagine possibility. When I’ve had moments of possibility is when I’ve spent time with friends, or people in my network. Go to everything you’re invited to, be social When I’ve talked with people who are doing the thing I want to do, it gives me that moment of possibility, the permission to be my weird, cringe self.

Put it in Practice

Now it’s time to do the damn thing. Make that video. Write that post. Reach out to the person. Taking action is the most crucial part of being cringe. Let the world see you, in all your cringe glory. Get comfortable being uncomfortable. I promise you, it gets easier over time.

Relish in Your New Found Fame

Trust me when I say, once you step into your cringe, the people will come. The right people, the people who will start to embrace their own. For me, when I come across someone on social media just being the absolute, most authentic weird version of themselves, they are just so much more interesting. They are someone I will follow to the ends of the Earth. Because not only did they give themselves the permission to be cringe and awkward, but by doing so, gives me the permission and courage to do the same.

Happy Molly Shannon GIF by Laff

Gif by laff_tv on Giphy

Feeling a bit overwhelmed on where to start or how to strike that perfect balance? Don’t worry; I’m here to help. Let’s schedule a coffee and consultation call, dive deep into your brand’s story, and unlock the kind of cringe that draws your people in.

Fancy a chat? Hit reply, and let’s make it happen.

Love ya, Angela

Want to work together? Book a Connection Call here.

Need to talk through a problem in your Personal Brand? Book a Consultation here.

Want to hear more about my struggles as a Creative? Read my Substack, Too Many Interests.

Reply

or to participate.